December 11, 2019 6:00pm — 7:00pm

Books that Built Chicago

Chicago's Architectural History in Print

By the Book Cover.jpg

Join Chicago architecture aficionados Robert Bruegmann, Kim Coventry, John Ronan, and Pauline Saliga to discuss the significant architecture and urban design projects profiled in Chicago by the Book: 101 Publications that Shaped the City and Its Image.

Wednesday, December 11, 2019
6:00 to 7:00 pm
The Newberry Library
Ruggles Hall
60 W. Walton St.
Free and open to the public; free tickets required. 

The speakers were contributors to Chicago by the Book, a recent publication from the Caxton Club:
Robert Bruegmann, historian, critic, and Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Art History, Architecture and Urban Planning at University of Illinois at Chicago. He wrote the entry “Carl W. Condit, The Chicago School of Architecture, 1964.”

Kim Coventry, Founder and President of The Coventry Group, LLC. She wrote the entries “The Lakeside Classics, 1903–,” and “Four American Books Campaign: Dana, Melville, Poe, and Thoreau, 1930.”

John Ronan, architect and John and Jeanne Rowe Endowed Chair of Professor of Architecture at the Illinois Institute of Technology College of Architecture. He wrote the entry “860—880 Lake Shore Drive, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe Architect, ca. 1951.”

Pauline Saliga, Executive Director of the Society of Architectural Historians. She wrote the entry “Harold M. Mayer and Richard C. Wade, Chicago: Growth of a Metropolis, 1969.”

This program is cosponsored by the Caxton Club and the Chicago Collections Consortium in partnership with the Chicago Architecture Biennial.

Doors open half an hour before the program begins, with first-come, first-served seating for registered attendees. Walk-ins without tickets if space permits will be admitted 10 minutes before the event begins.

People with disabilities and other accessibility concerns can request to be seated first. To reserve an access-friendly space in the room, first register on November 1 then email at least 48 hours before the event. Seats arranged in this way will be held until 10 minutes before the event starts.